Certificate of Appreciation

JPEG of printed certificate 2

Richard is a volunteer is for a nationwide nonprofit called SCORE which stands for Service Core of Retired Executives. SCORE is a nonprofit association dedicated to helping small businesses get off the ground, grow and achieve their goals through education and mentorship.  Visiting and exploring this website will reveal a wealth of information and resources for anyone who has self employed income.  Not only can you meet with a counselor for free there’s webinars, links to SBA information and other information for anyone wanting to learn the in and out’s of running their own business.

Richard has been helping me with my side business doing handyman work. Even though I have a BA in Accounting it’s good to have someone to go over my business plans to point things out that I may have missed or didn’t think of.  Eventually, I plan to phase out the handyman work and replace it with a calligraphy business.  This certificate is the first I’ve done and I plan to start doing more.

If you’re looking for something like this message me on facebook, email me or give me a call.  I can draft, scan then email you previews to create the certificate you’re looking for.   If it’s beyond my ability I know professional calligraphers I can put you in touch with.

Everything on this certificate was done by hand.  I used Ziller Black Soot ink for the blacks at the top.  Its 23K patent leaf gold on the initials and small dots throughout the name.  For the shading around the name I used Derwent Graphitint water soluble pencils for the shading.  I followed the technique I learned from Harvest Crittenden. Where I wet the tip of the pencil and load my brush. So the pencil never actually touched the paper.  I used walnut ink for the Copperplate hand lettering at the bottom.

If you’re interested in learning more about calligraphy can visit IAMPETH or contact me. From IAMPETH you can find a local guilds, teachers and suppliers of the tool/inks needed for the art.

certificate thumbnail

Leave a Reply

